Can I Bleed on Your Carpet?

TSK posted this poem by Steve M recently as a tribute.  Thought this might resonate with some of my friends.

THERAPY:

can i take my addictions into your church

can i sit on your padded pews

can i bleed on your carpet or do you want

me when i’m clean and not now.

can i take my addictions into your theology

is it big enough to face my pain

or will i stain your glass with street smells

and sweat

where can i go

where can i go when i’m addicted . . .

It also reminded me of this poem by Steve Turner:

THE GOD LETTERS:

The Lord God says:
‘Share your bread
with the hungry,
bring the homeless poor
into your house,
cover the naked.’

Dear Lord God,
We have got
new carpets,
so this will
not be possible.

Leave a Reply

