Who lives on bread alone?

Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”

Bread alone?  Who lives on bread alone?

Bread sure…

And cheese, wine, coffee, some fruit, a bit of chocolate perhaps, eggs, chicken, meat, milk,  honey, peanut butter, pasta, a bit of cereal and pizza of course.

Oh, Jesus was not so much talking about food as dependence on God

Trusting God

Faith

I trust God

I said the prayer

I read my Bible

sometimes

I go to church, Pay my taxes

And my car insurance, medical aid, pension and life insurance

I work hard, Provide for my family, food on the table, good schools, quiet neighbourhood, good job, nice promotion, earned some respect

Of course I trust God not bread!

Every word!

Every word?

Except those bits about war, giving up wealth, suffering, death, giving stuff away, women’s rights, not loving money, not envying, hell and homosexuality.

I trust God not bread and I read his word constantly…

mostly, often, sometimes, when there is nothing on TV…

ok I read it once but I am not legalistic about these things

Leave a Reply

